2012 Winter Retreat

Feb 6, 2015

IGERT-MNM Trainee Receives Prestigious Fellowship

Norfolk State University IGERT-MNM Trainee Thej Tumkur defended his PhD thesis on February 4, 2015, and leaves within days to pursue his new job.

Category: Accomplishments
Posted by: ksimmons

News article from the Rice University George R. Brown School of Engineering webpage:

Tumkur joins Thomann's research group


A postdoctoral student from the Center for Materials Research at Norfolk State University in Norfolk, Va., has been awarded the 2015 Evans Attwell/Welch Postdoctoral Fellowship to conduct research for two years at Rice University.

Thejaswi “Thej” Tumkur will join the research group of Isabell Thomann, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, materials science and nanoengineering, and chemistry. Tumkur earned his master’s degree and Ph.D. from Norfolk State, both in materials science and engineering.

His doctoral research focused on controlling optical and physical phenomena using hyperbolic metamaterials. At Rice he plans to study reactions and processes that occur at short timescales, and influence them using specially engineered, tunable optical materials, to make energy-related applications more efficient.

He will use the femtosecond laser tip-enhanced near field scanning probe microscope facilities in Thomann’s lab. The title of Tumkur’s fellowship proposal is “Optical switching of hyperbolic metamaterials: visualizing emission and harvesting energy.”

The J. Evans Attwell/Welch Postdoctoral Fellowship is awarded by the Richard E. Smalley Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology, and is named for the late J. Evans Attwell ’53, a prominent Houston attorney who sat on the Rice Board of Governors from 1982 to 1996. The fellowship is supported by endowments from both Rice University and the Welch Foundation, and is given to postdoctoral students in nanoscience and nanoengineering-related fields.

--Patrick Kurp, Engineering Communications


Previous page: 2012 EAC Meeting
Next page: Year 3

South Africa on innovative technologies Nano-INNOV Nederland